Elizabeth Bear Audiobooks Collection – 9 Unabridged Books


Sarah Bear Elizabeth Wishnevsky (born September 22, 1971) is an American author. Writing under the name Elizabeth Bear, she works primarily in the genre of speculative fiction, and was a winner of the 2005 John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, the 2008 Hugo Award for Best Short Story for “Tideline,” and the 2009 Hugo Award for Best Novelette for “Shoggoths in Bloom.” She is one of only five writers who have gone on to win multiple Hugo Awards for fiction after winning the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (the others being C. J. Cherryh, Orson Scott Card, Spider Robinson, and Ted Chiang).
Bear is of Ukrainian and Swedish ancestry.
A native of Hartford, Connecticut, her curriculum vitae includes working as a “media industry professional,” a stablehand, a fluff-page reporter, a maintainer of Microbiology procedure manuals for a 1,000-bed inner-city hospital, a typesetter and layout editor, a traffic manager for an import-export business, Emmanuel Labour, and “the girl who makes the donuts at The Whole Donut at three A.M.”
She lived in Las Vegas, Nevada for some time (the setting for the short stories “One-Eyed Jack and the Suicide King”, “Follow Me Light”, and “This Tragic Glass”), but she returned to Connecticut in January 2006.
Her first novel Hammered was published in January 2005 and was followed by Scardown in July and Worldwired in November of the same year. The trilogy features Canadian Master Warrant Officer Jenny Casey, who is also the main character in the short story “Gone to Flowers”. Hammered won the Locus Award for Best First Novel in 2006.
The Chains That You Refuse, a collection of her short fiction, was published May 2006 by Night Shade Books. Blood and Iron, the first book in the fantasy series entitled “The Promethean Age”, debuted June 27, 2006. She is also a coauthor of the ongoing Shadow Unit website/pseudo-TV series.
In 2008, she donated her archive to the department of Rare Books and Special Collections at Northern Illinois University.
She is an instructor at the Viable Paradise writer’s workshop and has taught at Clarion West Writers Workshop.
She is dating fantasy author Scott Lynch.
The opening quote in Criminal Minds episode “Lauren” (6.18) was a direct quote of the second and third lines of Bear’s book Seven for a Secret: “The secret to lying is to believe with all your heart. That goes for lying to yourself even more than lying to another.”

More information:


Eternal Sky series

Elizabeth Bear – Range Of Ghosts (read by Celeste Ciulla)
Elizabeth Bear – The Shattered Pillars (read by Celeste Ciulla)
Elizabeth Bear – Steles Of The Sky (read by Celeste Ciulla)

Jacob’s Ladder series

Elizabeth Bear – Dust (read by Alma Cuervo)
Elizabeth Bear – Chill (read by ???)
Elizabeth Bear – Grail (read by Alma Cuervo)

The Edda of Burdens series book 1

Elizabeth Bear – All The Windwracked Stars (read by Kate Reading and Michael Kramer)


Elizabeth Bear – Carnival (read by Celeste Ciulla)
Elizabeth Bear – Undertow (read by Timothy Reynolds)

Eternal Sky series

Jacob’s Ladder series

The Edda of Burdens series