Jack McDevitt Audiobooks Collection – 16 Unabridged Books


Jack McDevitt (born 1935) is an American science fiction author whose novels frequently deal with attempts to make contact with alien races, and with archaeology or xenoarchaeology. His two main series are the Alex Benedict series and the Priscilla Hutchins series.
McDevitt’s first published story was “The Emerson Effect” in The Twilight Zone Magazine in 1981. Two years later, he published his first novel, The Hercules Text, about the discovery of an intelligently conceived signal whose repercussions threaten human civilization. This novel set the tone for many of McDevitt’s following novels, which focused on making first contact. Frequently this theme is mixed with both trepidation before the unknown and a sense of wonder at the universe.
With The Engines of God (1994), McDevitt introduced the idea of a universe that was once teeming with intelligent life, but contains only their abandoned artifacts by the time humans arrive on the scene. Although it was initially written as a standalone novel, the main character of The Engines of God, pilot Priscilla Hutchins, has since appeared in five more books, Deepsix (2001), Chindi (2002), Omega (2003), Odyssey (2006), and Cauldron (2007). The mystery surrounding the destructive “Omega Clouds” (which are introduced in The Engines of God) is left unexplored until Omega.
McDevitt went to La Salle University, where a short story of his won the annual Freshman Short Story Contest and was published in the school’s literary magazine, Four Quarters. As McDevitt explained in an interview, “I was on my way. Then I read David Copperfield and realized I could never write at that level, and therefore I should find something else to do. I joined the Navy, drove a cab, became an English teacher, took a customs inspector’s job on the northern border, and didn’t write another word for a quarter-century.” McDevitt received a Master’s degree in literature from Wesleyan University in 1971. He returned to writing when his wife, Maureen, encouraged him to try his hand at it in 1980. As of 2007, McDevitt lives near Brunswick, Georgia. In 2005, he donated his archive to the department of Rare Books and Special Collections at Northern Illinois University.

More information:


Alex Benedict series

Jack McDevitt – A Talent For War (read by Greg Abbey)
Jack McDevitt – Polaris (read by Greg Abbey)
Jack McDevitt – Seeker (read by Jennifer Van Dyck)
Jack McDevitt – The Devil’s Eye (read by Jennifer Van Dyck)
Jack McDevitt – Echo (read by Paul Boehmer)
Jack McDevitt – Firebird (read by Jennifer Van Dyck)
Jack McDevitt – Coming Home (read by Jennifer Van Dyck)

The Academy series

Jack McDevitt – The Engines Of God (read by Carole Jordan Stewart)
Jack McDevitt – Deepsix (read by Roy Avers)
Jack McDevitt – Chindi (read by Roy Avers)
Jack McDevitt – Omega (read by Erin Jones)
Jack McDevitt – Odyssey (read by Roy Avers)
Jack McDevitt – Cauldron (read by Roy Avers)


Jack McDevitt – Moonfall (read by Jack Fox)
Jack McDevitt – Time Travelers Never Die (read by Paul Boehmer)
Jack McDevitt – The Cassandra Project (read by Brian Holsopple)

Alex Benedict series

The Academy series