Jacqueline Carey Audiobooks Collection – 16 Unabridged Books


Jacqueline Carey (born 1964 in Highland Park, Illinois) is an author and novelist, primarily of fantasy fiction.
She attended Lake Forest College, receiving B.A.’s in psychology and English literature in 1986. During college, she spent 6 months working in a bookstore in London as part of a work exchange program. While there, she decided to write professionally. After returning she started her writing career while working at the art center of a local college. After ten years, she discovered success with the publication of her first book in 2001. Currently, Carey lives in western Michigan and is a member of the oldest Mardi Gras krewe in the state.
Carey is considered an important writer, whose literary work has been recognized and highlighted at Michigan State University in their Michigan Writers Series.
Her first novel was Kushiel’s Dart, published by Tor Books in 2001, and the recipient of the 2002 Locus Award for Best First Novel. The Kushiel’s Legacy trilogy, completed with Kushiel’s Chosen and Kushiel’s Avatar, follows the story of a courtesan in a historical fantasy or alternate history (Terre d’Ange) society that follows a demi-god, Elua, whose precept is “Love as thou wilt”. The map of Terre d’Ange, the “Land of the Angels,” bears a striking resemblance to that of France. Fictional versions of Greece, Great Britain, Italy, Germany, and Spain also figure prominently in the series. Elua was born when the blood of Yeshua ben Yosef, the son of the one God, mingled with the tears of the Magdelene and carried in the womb of Mother Earth. With Elua’s peaceful wanderings and the one God’s rejection of him, seven angels then rejected God to become Elua’s companions on Earth. These angels and Elua himself then founded a nation and comingled with humans before leaving. D’Angelines are the people from their descent.
The first trilogy, Kushiel’s Legacy, begins with the story of Phèdre nò Delaunay, a courtesan’s flawed and unwanted daughter who is sold into indenture. The second trilogy (named Treason’s Heir in the UK and frequently dubbed the Imriel Trilogy in North America), is a continuation of the storyline started in Kushiel’s Legacy. The main protagonist is Imriel nò Montrève de la Courcel, third in line for the throne of Terre d’Ange and adopted son of Phèdre nò Delaunay de Montrève. Imriel was first introduced in Kushiel’s Chosen as the traitor Melisande’s infant son.
The third trilogy, whose third novel Naamah’s Blessing came out in June 2011, takes place centuries after both trilogies and features the protagonist Moirin of the Maghuinn Dhon. Moirin is half-D’Angeline and half of the Maghuin Donn. She is touched by the blessing of Naamah as well as her diadh-anam, the bear-goddess of the Maghuin Dhonn. After a terrible accident and the revelation that her father is a priest of Naamah, Moirin sets sail for Terre d’Ange in search of a destiny her bear-goddess has foretold. Instead of a seemingly clear destiny, Moirin finds herself in an entanglement of court intrigue, scandal and passion. Tossed between the Queen and her courtier, Moiron must decide which path to take before she bleeds dry in the process. She also meets Lo Feng, a sort-of priest of Ch’in, present day China. Feng teaches our heroine the five styles of breathing and offers a respite from her complicated court life. In following her destiny, she will also follow Feng and his young apprentice across yet another ocean where she will meet a princess possessed by a dragon. This is just the first test Moiron will encounter along her destiny’s path. She discovers through her diadh-anam that her true love has never been far away. She will travel through cities, deserts and vast areas in an attempt to join the two together. Through her travels, she will always remember that she still has unfinished business back in Terre d’Ange before she can ever hope to see her mother again.

More information:


Phedre’s Trilogy

Jacqueline Carey – Kushiel’s Dart (read by Anne Flosnik)
Jacqueline Carey – Kushiel’s Chosen (read by Anne Flosnik)
Jacqueline Carey – Kushiel’s Avatar (read by Anne Flosnik)

Imriel’s Trilogy

Jacqueline Carey – Kushiel’s Scion (read by Simon Vance)
Jacqueline Carey – Kushiel’s Justice (read by Simon Vance)
Jacqueline Carey – Kushiel’s Mercy (read by Simon Vance)

Moirin’s Trilogy

Jacqueline Carey – Naamah’s Kiss (read by Anne Flosnik)
Jacqueline Carey – Naamah’s Curse (read by Anne Flosnik)
Jacqueline Carey – Naamah’s Blessing (read by Anne Flosnik)

Agent of Hel series

Jacqueline Carey – Dark Currents (read by Johanna Parker)
Jacqueline Carey – Autumn Bones (read by Johanna Parker)
Jacqueline Carey – Poison Fruit (read by Johanna Parker)

Santa Olivia series

Jacqueline Carey – Santa Olivia (read by Susan Ericksen)
Jacqueline Carey – Saints Astray (read by Susan Ericksen)

The Sundering series

Jacqueline Carey – Banewreaker (read by Roy Avers)
Jacqueline Carey – Godslayer (read by Roy Avers)

Phedre’s Trilogy

Imriel’s Trilogy

Moirin’s Trilogy

Agent of Hel series

Santa Olivia series

The Sundering series