Steven Erikson Audiobooks Collection – 15 Unabridged Books

Steven Erikson (born October 7, 1959) is the pseudonym of Steve Rune Lundin, a Canadian novelist, who was educated and trained as both an archaeologist and anthropologist.
His best-known work is the ten-volume fantasy series Malazan Book of the Fallen, which by 2012 had sold over 1,000,000 copies worldwide. SF Site has called the series “the most significant work of epic fantasy since Donaldson’s Chronicles of Thomas Covenant,” and Fantasy Book Review described it as “the best fantasy series of recent times.” Fellow fantasy author Stephen Donaldson refers to Erikson as “an extraordinary writer”. In an interview with, Erikson acknowledged that he originally doubted the series would become “mainstream”, and was subsequently surprised at how successful the series has been. He also noted how people “either hate the series or love it”.
Steven Erikson was born in Toronto, Canada, and grew up in Winnipeg. He subsequently lived in the UK with his wife and son, but has since returned to Winnipeg. He is an anthropologist and archaeologist by training and is a graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop. For his thesis at the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, Erikson wrote a “story cycle” of short stories titled A Ruin of Feathers about an archaeologist in Central America. Subsequently, Erikson received a grant to finish the work which was published by TSAR, a small Canadian publishing house. For his next work Erikson co-won the Anvil Press International 3-Day Novel Contest for which he signed away the rights, a mistake he attributes to inexperience. Erikson’s third book was also published by TSAR, and consisted of a novella and short stories titled Revolvo and other Canadian Tales. Later, upon moving to England, Erikson sold what he refers to as his “first real novel” to Hodder and Stoughton – This River Awakens – written when he still lived in Winnipeg. The first four books were published under Erikson’s real name, and are currently out of print. In addition to writing, Erikson paints using oil paints.
The Malazan world was devised by Steven Erikson and Ian Cameron Esslemont, initially as a setting for a role-playing game. Gardens of the Moon began as a movie script but evolved into a novel, which Erikson completed in 1991-92 but failed to sell.
In the late 1990s, Transworld – a division of Random House – bought Gardens of the Moon and requested Erikson write additional books in the series. Using the history of the Malazan world he created with Esslemont, Erikson plotted nine additional novels. After the publication of Gardens of the Moon, reviews spread via the internet, and Orion publications attempted to lure Erikson away from Transworld. However, Transworld retained an option on additional novels in the series and offered £675,000 for the remaining nine books of the series.
Erikson has stated explicitly that he enjoys playing with and overturning the conventions of fantasy, presenting characters that violate the stereotypes associated with their roles. Erikson deliberately began the Malazan Book of the Fallen series mid-plot rather than beginning with a more conventional narrative. Erikson’s style of writing includes complex plots with masses of characters. In addition, Erikson has been praised for his willingness to kill central characters when it enhances the plot.
Erikson’s first novel of the Malazan Book of the Fallen series, Gardens of the Moon (1999), was well received. It was short-listed for a World Fantasy Award It has also earned him the reputation as one of the best authors in the fantasy genre., and was described as “An astounding début”. The novel was acclaimed for its “combination of originality and intelligent, strong and exciting storytelling”. The second book in the series, Deadhouse Gates (2000), was voted one of the ten best fantasy novels of 2000 by SF Site.
During a 2008 question and answer session in Seattle, Washington, Erikson stated he had signed a deal to write two more trilogies and six novellas; Erikson planned to use the novellas to continue the Bauchelain and Korbal Broach storyline while one of the trilogies would be a prequel to the main series, detailing the history of Anomander Rake and Mother Dark. He also said that he would write a trilogy on the Toblakai.

More information:

The Malazan Book of the Fallen series

Steven Erikson – Gardens Of The Moon (read by Ralph Lister)
Steven Erikson – Deadhouse Gates (read by Ralph Lister)
Steven Erikson – Memories Of Ice (read by Ralph Lister)
Steven Erikson – House Of Chains (read by Michael Page)
Steven Erikson – Midnight Tides (read by Michael Page)
Steven Erikson – The Bonehunters (read by Michael Page)
Steven Erikson – Reaper’s Gale (read by Michael Page)
Steven Erikson – Toll The Hounds (read by Michael Page)
Steven Erikson – Dust Of Dreams (read by Michael Page)
Steven Erikson – The Crippled God (read by Michael Page)

The Kharkanas Trilogy

Steven Erikson – Forge Of Darkness Volume 1 (read by Daniel Philpott)
Steven Erikson – Forge Of Darkness Volume 2 (read by Daniel Philpott)
Steven Erikson – Fall Of Light (read by Barnaby Edwards)

Willful Child series book 1

Steven Erikson – Willful Child (read by MacLeod Andrews)

The Tales of Bauchelain and Korbal Broach series book 4

Steven Erikson – Crack’d Pot Trail (read by John Haag)

The Malazan Book of the Fallen series

The Kharkanas Trilogy

Willful Child series

The Tales of Bauchelain and Korbal Broach series