Evolution’s Captain by Peter Nichols

Evolution’s Captain: The Dark Fate of the Man Who Sailed Charles Darwin Around the World by Peter Nichols
Requirements: .ePUB reader, 728 kb
Overview: Evolution’s Captain is the story of a visionary but now forgotten English naval officer but for whom the "Darwinian Revolution" would never have occurred. When Captain Robert FitzRoy, the twenty-six-year-old captain of the H.M.S. Beagle, set out for Tierra del Fuego in the fall of 1831, he invited a young naturalist to accompany him. That twenty-two-year-old gentleman was Charles Darwin, and perhaps no single voyage in history had a greater impact on how we would come to understand the world — in both religious and scientific terms.
Genre: Non-Fiction > Biographies & Memoirs

Continue reading “Evolution’s Captain by Peter Nichols”

Captain America, Masculinity, and Violence: The Evolution of a…


Captain America, Masculinity, and Violence: The Evolution of a National Icon (Television and Popular Culture)
Continue reading “Captain America, Masculinity, and Violence: The Evolution of a…”

The Captain is Out to Lunch by Charles Bukowski

The Captain is Out to Lunch and the Sailors Have Taken Over the Ship by Charles Bukowski
Requirements: .ePUB, .MOBI/.AZW reader, 660 kb
Overview: The Captain Is Out to Lunch and the Sailors Have Taken Over the Ship is a collection of extracts from the journals of Charles Bukowski, spanning 1991 to 1993. The book was first published in 1998 with illustrations by Robert Crumb. The diary entries record the last few years of Bukowski’s life, in which he talks about drinking, gambling, aging, fame, and his mundane day-to-day activities.
Genre: Non-Fiction > Biographies & Memoirs

Continue reading “The Captain is Out to Lunch by Charles Bukowski”

The Complete Works of Captain Mayne Reid by Delphi Classics

The Complete Works of Captain Mayne Reid by Delphi Classics
Requirements: .ePUB reader, 46.3 MB
Overview: Captain Thomas Mayne Reid was a Scots-Irish American writer, whose popular novels in the vein of Frederick Marryat and Robert Louis Stevenson feature high adventure in untamed settings. This comprehensive eBook presents Reid’s complete works, with numerous illustrations, rare texts appearing in digital print for the first time, informative introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material.
Genre: Fiction > General Fiction/Classics

Continue reading “The Complete Works of Captain Mayne Reid by Delphi Classics”

The Captain’s Oath by Christopher L. Bennett

The Virtues of Captain America by Mark D. White

The Virtues of Captain America by Mark D. White
Requirements: .PDF reader, 5.2 Mb
Overview: The first look at the philosophy behind the Captain America comics and movies, publishing in advance of the movie release of Captain America: The Winter Solider in April 2014.

In The Virtues of Captain America, philosopher and long-time comics fan Mark D. White argues that the core principles, compassion, and judgment exhibited by the 1940 s comic book character Captain America remain relevant to the modern world. Simply put, "Cap" embodies many of the classical virtues that have been important to us since the days of the ancient Greeks: honesty, courage, loyalty, perseverance, and, perhaps most importantly, honor. Full of entertaining examples from more than 50 years of comic books, White offers some serious philosophical discussions of everyone s favorite patriot in a light-hearted and accessible way.
Presents serious arguments on the virtues of Captain America while being written in a light-hearted and often humorous tone
Introduces basic concepts in moral and political philosophy to the general reader
Utilizes examples from 50 years of comics featuring Captain America, the Avengers, and other Marvel superheroes
Affirms the value of "old-fashioned" virtues for the modern world without indulging in nostalgia for times long passed
Reveals the importance of the sound principles that America was founded upon
Genre: Non-Fiction > History

Continue reading “The Virtues of Captain America by Mark D. White”

Spanish Gold: Captain Woodes Rogers and the Pirates of the Caribbean


Spanish Gold: Captain Woodes Rogers and the Pirates of the Caribbean
Continue reading “Spanish Gold: Captain Woodes Rogers and the Pirates of the Caribbean”

I Escape! by Captain J.L. Hardy

I Escape!: The Great War’s Most Remarkable POW by Captain J.L. Hardy DSO MC
Requirements: .ePUB reader, 740 KB
Overview: Of all the daring PoW escape stories that have come to light in the last 100 years and immortalized by Steve McQueen in the film The Great Escape, the story of J.L. Hardy has to be one of the most remarkable. A PoW for three-and-a-half years, Hardy made no less than twelve escape attempts while imprisoned by the Germans in the First World War, five of which being successful.

In early 1915 he attempted to escape from Halle Camp, near Leipzig, by breaking through a brick wall into an adjacent ammunition factory. After five-months work the project proved impracticable. In the summer of 1915 he was transferred to Augustabad Camp, near Neu Brandenburg, and after being there 10 days he managed to slip away from a bathing party outside the camp, together with a Russian officer. After a difficult journey they covered the 50 miles to the Baltic coast. They swam a river, were nearly recaptured once, but eventually reached Stralsund. They nearly managed to get the crew of a Swedish schooner there to give them passage, but were arrested at the last moment.
Genre: Non-Fiction > Biographies & Memoirs

Continue reading “I Escape! by Captain J.L. Hardy”

Shipwrecked with the Captain (The Governess Swap Book 2)

Continue reading “Shipwrecked with the Captain (The Governess Swap Book 2)”

Captain Marvel Masterworks Vol.1 through Roy Thomas +

Captain Marvel Masterworks Vol.1 through Roy Thomas
Requirements: ePUB Reader, AZW3 Reader, 60.eight mb (AZW3), 57.2 mb (.ePUB)
Overview: This quantity Collects Marvel Super-Heroes (1967) #12-13 and Captain Marvel (1968) #1-9.

Look out! Captain Marvel, the space-born superhero, is coming at you with scintillating superhero sci-fi adventures! Branded a traitor through the vicious Colonel Yon-Rogg for protecting the folk of Earth, Kree Captain Mar-Vell assumes the human identification of Walter Lawson and turns into our planet’s protector towards an amazing array of interstellar enemies. The huge Sentry #459, the savage Super-Skrull, Prince Namor the Sub-Mariner and Quasimodo the Living Computer all salary battle towards Captain Marvel right here in his first adventures. Of direction there may be quite a few drama, too, with the beautiful Medic Una and Carol Danvers every catching the Kree Captain’s eye.
Genre: Comic Books

Continue reading “Captain Marvel Masterworks Vol.1 through Roy Thomas +”

Captain Jack – The Pickup Scientist

Continue reading “Captain Jack – The Pickup Scientist”

Gerry Anderson’s Captain Scarlet Anual by Various [.CBR]

Gerry Anderson’s Captain Scarlet Anual by Various authors and illustrators.
Requirements: Any .cbr reader 500Mb.
Overview: The complete TV Century 21 Captain Scarlet comic and text story collection from the 242 .T.v.21 magazine run aswell as the Extras and Annuals. A reimaging of the television show with some changes to the characters and setting, (both good and bad) but nevertheless fully integrated into .T.V.21’s Andersonverse.
Genre: Comics > Television tie-in

Continue reading “Gerry Anderson’s Captain Scarlet Anual by Various [.CBR]”

Captain Underpants and the Big, Bad Battle of the Bionic Booger…


Captain Underpants and the Big, Bad Battle of the Bionic Booger Boy, Part 1: The Night of the Nasty Nostril Nuggets (Captain Underpants #6) (Pt.1)
Continue reading “Captain Underpants and the Big, Bad Battle of the Bionic Booger…”

Recollections of Sherman’s Campaigns by Captain George Pepper +

Personal Recollections of Sherman’s Campaigns in Georgia and the Carolinas by Captain George W. Pepper
Requirements: .ePUB, .AZW reader, 1.20MB | Retail
Overview: Presented as it was originally published in 1866, Pepper’s memoirs are much more than a series of battle descriptions.
Starting at Kentucky and marching through the states with Sherman’s troops, Pepper portrays in extensive detail the regions, the buildings, and the people, including anecdotes of Sherman.

Locale, military tactics and colourful characterizations give this recounting a fascinating and novel point of view.Pepper details each battle and reveals the aftermath on many levels.
A must-read for anyone interested in military history and the American Civil War.
Genre: Non-Fiction > Biographies & Memoirs > Professionals & Academics > Military & Spies

Continue reading “Recollections of Sherman’s Campaigns by Captain George Pepper +”