Valley of Death by Scott Mariani

Black Death at The Golden Gate: The Race to Save America From The Bubonic Plague [Audiobook]

Black Death at The Golden Gate: The Race to Save America From The Bubonic Plague [Audiobook]

Continue reading “Black Death at The Golden Gate: The Race to Save America From The Bubonic Plague [Audiobook]”

Black Death at the Golden Gate by David K. Randall

Black Death at the Golden Gate: The Race to Save America from the Bubonic Plague by David K. Randall
Requirements: .MP3 reader, 445 MB
Overview: A spine-chilling saga of virulent racism, human folly, and the ultimate triumph of scientific progress.
For Chinese immigrant Wong Chut King, surviving in San Francisco meant a life in the shadows. His passing on March 6, 1900, would have been unremarkable if a city health officer hadn’t noticed a swollen black lymph node on his groin – a sign of bubonic plague. Empowered by racist pseudoscience, officials rushed to quarantine Chinatown while doctors examined Wong’s tissue for telltale bacteria. If the devastating disease was not contained, San Francisco would become the American epicenter of an outbreak that had already claimed 10 million lives worldwide.
To local press, railroad barons, and elected officials, such a possibility was inconceivable – or inconvenient. As they mounted a cover-up to obscure the threat, it fell to federal health officer Rupert Blue to save a city that refused to be rescued.
In the tradition of Erik Larson and Steven Johnson, best-selling author David K. Randall spins a spellbinding account of Blue’s race to understand the disease and contain its spread – the only hope of saving San Francisco, and the nation, from a gruesome fate.
Genre: Audiobooks > Non-Fiction

Continue reading “Black Death at the Golden Gate by David K. Randall”

Valley of Death by Scott Mariani

Valley of Death (Ben Hope #19) by Scott Mariani
Requirements: .MP3 reader, 307mb
Overview: This time it’s personal….

People going missing in the remote wilds of India is not unusual. But when the son of a wealthy Delhi businessman is kidnapped just weeks after his brother fell victim to an alleged bandit attack in the mountains of Haryana, it raises eyebrows.

With the local police doing close to nothing, there’s only one man for the job: ex-SAS major Ben Hope. But for Ben, this is no ordinary rescue case. Because this plea for help is coming from a special person from his past, who now has nobody else to turn to.

Ben’s mission will take him into the heart of the arid Indian wilderness, pitting him against ruthless gangs and desperate men. But Ben is determined to save the day. Whatever it takes.

The master best seller returns, with the most hotly anticipated thriller of 2019.
Genre: Audiobooks > Fiction > Mysteries & Thrillers

Continue reading “Valley of Death by Scott Mariani”

The Day of Shelly’s Death by Renato Rosaldo

The Day of Shelly’s Death: The Poetry and Ethnography of Grief by Renato Rosaldo
Requirements: .PDF reader, 0.8 mb
Overview: This deeply moving collection of poetry by Renato Rosaldo focuses on the shock of his wife Michelle (Shelly) Rosaldo’s sudden death on October 11, 1981. Just the day before, Shelly and her family had arrived in the northern Philippine village of Mungayang, where she and her husband Renato, both accomplished anthropologists, planned to conduct fieldwork. On October 11, Shelly died after losing her footing and falling some sixty feet from a cliff into a swollen river. Renato Rosaldo explored the relationship between bereavement and rage in his canonical essay, "Grief and a Headhunter’s Rage," which first appeared in 1984 and is reprinted here. In the poems at the heart of this book, he returns to the trauma of Shelly’s death through the medium of free verse, maintaining a tight focus on the events of October 11, 1981. He explores not only his own experience of Shelly’s death but also the imagined perspectives of many others whose lives intersected with that tragic event and its immediate aftermath, from Shelly herself to the cliff from which she fell, from the two young boys who lost their mother to the strangers who carried and cared for them, from a tricycle taxi driver, to a soldier, to priests and nuns. Photographs taken years earlier, when Renato and Shelly were conducting research across the river valley from Mungayang, add a stark beauty. In a new essay, "Notes on Poetry and Ethnography," Rosaldo explains how and why he came to write the harrowing yet beautiful poems in The Day of Shelly’s Death. More than anything else though, the essay is a manifesto in support of what he calls antropoesía, verse with an ethnographic sensibility. The essay clarifies how this book of rare humanity and insight challenges the limits of ethnography as it is usually practiced.
Genre: Non-Fiction > General

Continue reading “The Day of Shelly’s Death by Renato Rosaldo”

Resistance, Rebellion and Death by Albert Camus +

Resistance, Rebellion, and Death by Albert Camus
Requirements: .ePUB, .PDF Reader, 4.8 MB
Overview: In the speech he gave upon accepting the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1957, Albert Camus said that a writer "cannot serve today those who make history; he must serve those who are subject to it." In these twenty-three political essays, he demonstrates his commitment to history’s victims, from the fallen maquis of the French Resistance to the casualties of the Cold War. They display Camus’ rigorous moral intelligence addressing issues that range from colonial warfare in Algeria to the social cancer of capital punishment. But this stirring book is above all a reflection on the problem of freedom, and, as such, belongs in the same tradition as the works that gave Camus his reputation as the conscience of our century: The Stranger, The Rebel, and The Myth of Sisyphus.
Genre: Non-Fiction | Literature

Continue reading “Resistance, Rebellion and Death by Albert Camus +”

Life and Death of the Radical Historical Jesus by David Burns

The Life and Death of the Radical Historical Jesus by David Burns
Requirements: .PDF reader, 4.5 Mb
Overview: This book contends that the influence of biblical criticism in America was more widespread than previously thought. It proves this point by uncovering the hidden history of the radical historical Jesus, a construct created and sustained by freethinkers, feminists, socialists, and anarchists during the Gilded Age and Progressive Era. This exploration provides a new narrative revealing that Cyrenus Osborne Ward, Caroline Bartlett, George Herron, Bouck White, and other radical religionists had an impact on the history of religion in America rivaling that of recognized religious intellectuals such as Shailer Mathews, Charles Briggs, Francis Peabody, and Walter Rauschenbusch. The methods and approaches utilized by radical religionists were different than those employed by elite liberal divines, however, and part of a larger struggle over the relationship between religion and civilization. There were numerous reasons for this conflict, but the primary one was that radicals used Ernest Renan’s The Life of Jesus to create an imaginative brand of biblical criticism that struck a balance between the demands of reason and the doctrines of religion. Thus, while radical religionists like Robert Ingersoll, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, and Eugene Debs were secular-minded thinkers who sought to purge Christianity of its supernatural dimensions, they believed the religious imagination that enabled modern-day radicals to make common cause with an ancient peasant from Galilee was something wonderful.
Genre: Non-Fiction > Faith, Beliefs & Philosophy

Continue reading “Life and Death of the Radical Historical Jesus by David Burns”

David K. Randall – Black Death at the Golden Gate

Continue reading “David K. Randall – Black Death at the Golden Gate”

Death Work: Police, Trauma, and the Psychology of Survival


Death Work: Police, Trauma, and the Psychology of Survival
Continue reading “Death Work: Police, Trauma, and the Psychology of Survival”

Death Work: Police, Trauma, and the Psychology of Survival


Death Work: Police, Trauma, and the Psychology of Survival
Continue reading “Death Work: Police, Trauma, and the Psychology of Survival”

Iceberg Slim – Death Wish: A Story of the Mafia

Death Wish: A Story of the Mafia By Iceberg Slim

Continue reading “Iceberg Slim – Death Wish: A Story of the Mafia”

Death Walks Skid Row by Michael Mallory

The Death Cure (Maze Runner #3) by James Dashner

The Death Cure (Maze Runner #3) by James Dashner
Requirements: .MP3 reader, 246.2 MB
Overview: Don’t miss book three in the #1 New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series, now a major motion picture starring Dylan O’Brien!
WICKED has taken everything from Thomas: his life, his memories, and now his only friends-the Gladers. But it’s finally over. The trials are complete, after one final test.
What WICKED doesn’t know is that Thomas remembers far more than they think. And it’s enough to prove that he can’t believe a word of what they say.
Thomas beat the Maze. He survived the Scorch. He’ll risk anything to save his friends. But the truth might be what ends it all.
The time for lies is over.
The first two books, The Maze Runner and The Scorch Trials, are also #1 worldwide blockbuster movies featuring the star of MTV’s Teen Wolf, Dylan O’Brien; Kaya Scodelario; Aml Ameen; Will Poulter; and Thomas Brodie-Sangster!
Also look for The Fever Code, the much-buzzed-about series conclusion that finally reveals the story of how the maze was built, and James Dashner’s other bestselling series, the Mortality Doctrine: The Eye of Minds, The Rule of Thoughts, and The Game of Lives.
Genre: Audiobooks > Fiction

Continue reading “The Death Cure (Maze Runner #3) by James Dashner”

Harold and the Angel of Death by Gary McPherson