On Foot to the Golden Horn by Jason Goodwin

On Foot to the Golden Horn: A Walk to Istanbul by Jason Goodwin
Requirements: .ePUB, .MOBI/.AZW reader, 766 KB
Overview: On Foot to the Golden Horn recounts Jason Goodwin’s breathtaking journey with two companions through Eastern Europe from the dikes and marshes of Poland’s Baltic coast across to the Golden Horn in Istanbul.

Along the way, they sleep in haystacks, drink with Gypsies, and play with Ceaucescu’s orphans, meeting with blatant hostility and overwhelming hospitality as an older Europe tries to settle with itself, and a new one struggles to be born. It is the story of three friends’ walk through some of the world’s most beautiful and tragic places, and of their encounters with a varied and vivid cast of characters.
Genre: Non-Fiction > Biographies & Memoirs > Travelogue

Continue reading “On Foot to the Golden Horn by Jason Goodwin”

Golden: Sweet & Savory Baked Delights by Itamar Srulovich +

Golden: Sweet & Savory Baked Delights from the Ovens of London’s Honey & Co. by Itamar Srulovich, Sarit Packer
Requirements: .ePUB reader, 235 MB
Overview: "I want to make every recipe in this book. . . . And you should, too!"-David Lebovitz, author of My Paris Kitchen and Ready for Dessert

Comforting breads, buns, pastries, cakes, cookies, and other baked delights from the Middle East

There’s always something sweet in the oven at Honey & Co., the tiny restaurant in London where the day is marked by what comes out of the pastry section. In the morning, sticky buns are stuffed full of cherries and pistachios; loaves of rich dough are rolled with chocolate, hazelnuts, and cinnamon. Lunch is a crisp, crumbly shell of pastry filled with spiced lamb or burnt eggplant, and at teatime there are cheesecakes and fruitcakes, small cakes, and massive cookies-so many treats that it’s hard to choose one. And after dinner? Poached peaches with roses, something sweet and salty drenched in orange blossom syrup, or maybe even a piece of fresh marzipan.

This is the magic of Middle Eastern soul food. This is Golden.

Previously published in the United Kingdom as Honey and Co: The Baking Book
Genre: Non-Fiction > Food & Drink

Continue reading “Golden: Sweet & Savory Baked Delights by Itamar Srulovich +”

Golden Compass Graphic Novel Complete Edition by Philip Pullman (.CBR)

The Golden Compass Graphic Novel, Complete Edition (The Golden Compass Graphic #1-3) by Stéphane Melchior-Durand (adapter), Philip Pullman
Requirements: CBR Reader, 133MB
Overview: The graphic novel adaptation of The Golden Compass, one of the most celebrated books of all time, is now complete! This edition contains all three volumes-the entire story.
Published in 50 countries with over 22 million copies sold, The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife, and The Amber Spyglass are renowned for their engrossing storytelling and epic scope. These modern classics are must-reads for every book lover.
Now, in this graphic novel adaptation of The Golden Compass, the world of His Dark Materials is brought to visual life. The stunning full-color art will offer both new and returning readers a chance to experience the story of Lyra, an ordinary girl with an extraordinary role to play in the fates of multiple worlds, in an entirely fresh way.
This volume collects the full journey of Lyra to the far north, her rescue of the kidnapped children at Bolvangar, her escape via hot-air balloon, and her crucial role in Lord Asriel’s ambitions to build a bridge to another world.
Genre: Comics > Graphic Novels | Young Adult | Fantasy

Continue reading “Golden Compass Graphic Novel Complete Edition by Philip Pullman (.CBR)”

Brock: Golden Streak Series (the Golden Streak …

Continue reading “Brock: Golden Streak Series (the Golden Streak …”

Drayton Bird – The Golden Key

Continue reading “Drayton Bird – The Golden Key”

The Secret of Secrets: The Secret of The Golden Flower [Audiobook]

The Secret of Secrets: The Secret of The Golden Flower [Audiobook]

Continue reading “The Secret of Secrets: The Secret of The Golden Flower [Audiobook]”

A Ringside Affair: Boxing’s Last Golden Age [Audiobook]

A Ringside Affair: Boxing’s Last Golden Age [Audiobook]

Continue reading “A Ringside Affair: Boxing’s Last Golden Age [Audiobook]”

The New Golden Dawn Ritual Tarot by Chic Cicero+

The New Golden Dawn Ritual Tarot: Keys to the Rituals, Symbolism, Magic and Divination by Chic Cicero, Sandra Tabatha Cicer
Requirements: .PDF reader, 4.2 mb
Overview: An indispensable companion to Llewellyn’s New Golden Dawn Ritual Tarot Deck. This book provides a card-by-card analysis of the deck’s intricate symbolism, an introduction to the Qabalah, and a section on the use of the deck for practical rituals, meditations and divination procedures.
Genre: Non-Fiction > Faith, Beliefs & Philosophy

Continue reading “The New Golden Dawn Ritual Tarot by Chic Cicero+”

Retromania: The Funkiest Cameras Of Photography’s Golden …

Continue reading “Retromania: The Funkiest Cameras Of Photography’s Golden …”

Search for the Golden Moon Bear by Sy Montgomery

Search for the Golden Moon Bear: Science and Adventure in Pursuit of a New Species by Sy Montgomery
Requirements: .ePUB reader, 2.3 Mb
Overview: In recounting this eco-odyssey through Southeast Asia, Sy Montgomery combines a poet’s keen eye for observation with the intrepid spirit of a Victorian-era explorer. She travels through Laos, Cambodia, and Thailand with an affable biology professor and an array of local officials, guides, and interpreters, joining a search for "what could be the first new bear species to be reported in over a century." Sightings and rumors from isolated border regions had spoken of a blond bear, which might represent an addition to the planet’s eight known species — or an exotic variation on a more familiar theme. Braving rickety airplanes, army ants, and mystery illnesses, Montgomery journeys through a region of tremendous beauty that is under severe strain from human activities.
Genre: Non-Fiction > Educational

Continue reading “Search for the Golden Moon Bear by Sy Montgomery”

Heart Matters (golden Hearts Book 1)

Continue reading “Heart Matters (golden Hearts Book 1)”

The Golden Age of Handbuilt Bicycles by Jan Heine

The Golden Age of Handbuilt Bicycles by Jan Heine, Jean-Pierre Praderes
Requirements: .PDF reader, 46,7 MB
Overview: The Golden Age of Handbuilt Bicycles is a celebration of the design history and craftsmanship behind this simple but efficient two-wheeled vehicle. Featuring fifty classic models built by hand, this book unveils the bicycle’s technical evolution within a historical context. Beautifully detailed are early-twentieth-century models with multi-gear systems, mid-century machines where war and postwar economy challenged craft and utility, as well as modern and contemporary bicycles. Featured artisans and brands include La Gauloise, Reyhand, Schulz, Barra, Alex Singer, and René Herse. With brilliant full-color images of each model and chronological text detailing the craftsmanship that went into producing these elegant machines, this book will appeal to bicycle enthusiasts and to anyone interested in design.
Genre: Non-Fiction > General

Continue reading “The Golden Age of Handbuilt Bicycles by Jan Heine”

Black Death at The Golden Gate: The Race to Save America From The Bubonic Plague [Audiobook]

Black Death at The Golden Gate: The Race to Save America From The Bubonic Plague [Audiobook]

Continue reading “Black Death at The Golden Gate: The Race to Save America From The Bubonic Plague [Audiobook]”

Black Death at the Golden Gate by David K. Randall

Black Death at the Golden Gate: The Race to Save America from the Bubonic Plague by David K. Randall
Requirements: .MP3 reader, 445 MB
Overview: A spine-chilling saga of virulent racism, human folly, and the ultimate triumph of scientific progress.
For Chinese immigrant Wong Chut King, surviving in San Francisco meant a life in the shadows. His passing on March 6, 1900, would have been unremarkable if a city health officer hadn’t noticed a swollen black lymph node on his groin – a sign of bubonic plague. Empowered by racist pseudoscience, officials rushed to quarantine Chinatown while doctors examined Wong’s tissue for telltale bacteria. If the devastating disease was not contained, San Francisco would become the American epicenter of an outbreak that had already claimed 10 million lives worldwide.
To local press, railroad barons, and elected officials, such a possibility was inconceivable – or inconvenient. As they mounted a cover-up to obscure the threat, it fell to federal health officer Rupert Blue to save a city that refused to be rescued.
In the tradition of Erik Larson and Steven Johnson, best-selling author David K. Randall spins a spellbinding account of Blue’s race to understand the disease and contain its spread – the only hope of saving San Francisco, and the nation, from a gruesome fate.
Genre: Audiobooks > Non-Fiction

Continue reading “Black Death at the Golden Gate by David K. Randall”