Last of the Duanes by Zane Grey

Last of the Duanes by Zane Grey
Requirements: .MP3 reader, 229.5 MB
Overview: When this unforgettable novel was first published it was a rousing success and was made into a movie four times. Buck Duane’s father was a gunfighter who died by the gun and, in accepting a drunken bully’s challenge, Duane himself was forced into the life of an outlaw. He roamed the dark trails of southwestern Texas, living in outlaw camps, until he met Jennie Lee, the one woman who could help him overcome his past.
Genre: Audiobooks > Fiction Westerns

Continue reading “Last of the Duanes by Zane Grey”

Last of the Duanes by Zane Grey

Last of the Duanes by Zane Grey
Requirements: .MP3 reader, 229.5 MB
Overview: When this unforgettable novel was first published it was a rousing success and was made into a movie four times. Buck Duane’s father was a gunfighter who died by the gun and, in accepting a drunken bully’s challenge, Duane himself was forced into the life of an outlaw. He roamed the dark trails of southwestern Texas, living in outlaw camps, until he met Jennie Lee, the one woman who could help him overcome his past.
Genre: Audiobooks > Fiction Westerns

Continue reading “Last of the Duanes by Zane Grey”

The Last Stage by Louise Voss

The Every Last Drop Trilogy

Continue reading “The Every Last Drop Trilogy”

Last Day by Domenica Ruta

Last Day by Domenica Ruta

Last One Home: A Novel by Debbie Macomber

Last One Home: A Novel (New Beginnings #1) by Debbie Macomber
Requirements: .MP3 reader, 294.7 MB
Overview: The first ever stand-alone novel from international bestseller Debbie Macomber, author of Blossom Street Brides and Rose Harbor in Bloom. A story about the enduring bond between sisters, the power of forgiveness, and a second chance at love.

Twelve years ago, Cassie Carter chose the wrong man, and one fateful event drove three sisters apart.

Now, hoping to leave her past behind, Cassie has returned to Washington with her daughter. Though her sisters don’t live too far away, she doesn’t expect to see them. Karen, the oldest, is a busy wife and mother, balancing her career with raising her two children. And Nichole, the youngest, is a stay-at-home mum whose husband indulges her every whim. But one day, Cassie receives a letter from Karen, offering the hope of reconciliation.

As Cassie opens herself up to new possibilities – making amends with her sisters, finding love once more – she realises the power of compassion, and the promise of a fresh start.
Genre: Audiobooks > Fiction

Continue reading “Last One Home: A Novel by Debbie Macomber”

Moscow, December 25, 1991: The Last Day …

Continue reading “Moscow, December 25, 1991: The Last Day …”

The Last Pirate of New York by Rich Cohen

The Last Pirate of New York: A Ghost Ship, a Killer, and the Birth of a Gangster Nation by Rich Cohen
Requirements: .ePUB reader, 14.1 MB
Overview: Was he New York City’s last pirate . . . or its first gangster? This is the true story of the bloodthirsty underworld legend who conquered Manhattan, dock by dock-for fans of Gangs of New York and Boardwalk Empire.

"History at its best . . . I highly recommend this remarkable book."-Douglas Preston, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Lost City of the Monkey God

Handsome and charismatic, Albert Hicks had long been known in the dive bars and gin joints of the Five Points, the most dangerous neighborhood in maritime Manhattan. For years, he operated out of the public eye, rambling from crime to crime, working on the water in ships, sleeping in the nickel-a-night flops, drinking in barrooms where rat-baiting and bear-baiting were great entertainments.
Genre: Non-Fiction > Biographies & Memoirs True Crime

Continue reading “The Last Pirate of New York by Rich Cohen”

Building Value to Last by Crystal Maggelet +

Building Value to Last: The Flying J Story by Crystal Maggelet, Sarah Ryther Francom
Requirements: .ePUB reader, 5.8 MB
Overview: Discover the inspiring story of how Crystal Maggelet unexpectedly ended up as CEO of her father’s company, guiding Flying J back from bankruptcy and on to great success-all during the throes of the Great Recession of the late 2000s. Through it all, Crystal succeeded by maintaining the core philosophy handed down through generations of the Call family-the importance of building value that will last.

Cowritten by Crystal herself, Building Value to Last compiles accounts from her own recollections and personal journals, as well as from interviews with key personnel.

Crystal Maggelet is president and CEO of FJ Management Inc., a diversified family business, which includes subsidiaries Maverik, a convenience store chain, and the Big West Oil petroleum refinery, as well as a minority stake in Pilot Flying J, the largest travel center operator in the United States. She has a bachelor’s degree from Pepperdine University and an MBA from Harvard University. She currently lives in the Salt Lake City area.
Genre: Non-Fiction > General

Continue reading “Building Value to Last by Crystal Maggelet +”

The Last Fifty Pages by James Scott Bell

The Last Fifty Pages: The Art and Craft of Unforgettable Endings by James Scott Bell
Requirements: .MOBI reader, 771 KB
Overview: The first page of a book sells that book. The last page sells your next book.” — Mickey Spillane
What are the secrets for writing a great ending for your novel? How do you leave readers so satisfied that they’ll want another book by you-right now? What tools and techniques can shape your last fifty pages into a powerful, unforgettable experience?

In this book, International Thriller Writers Award winner and #1 bestselling writing teacher James Scott Bell reveals:
• The five types of endings.
• What needs to happen in Act 3.

• How to use the Ah and Uh-Oh emotional wallops.
• A simple technique for crafting twist endings.
• The most important secret of all-resonance.

• The Stew, Brew, Accrue, Do brainstorming method.
• The best way to tie up loose ends.
• The most common ending mistakes, and how to avoid them.
And more. Read this book and you will come away with a thorough knowledge of why great endings work and how to create them for every novel you write.
Genre: Non-Fiction > Educational

Continue reading “The Last Fifty Pages by James Scott Bell”

The Last Leonardo by Ben Lewis

The Last Leonardo: The Secret Lives of the World’s Most Expensive Painting by Ben Lewis
Requirements: EPUB Reader 52.02 MB
Overview: In 2017 the Salvator Mundi was sold at auction for $450m. But is it a real da Vinci? In a thrilling narrative built on formidable research, Ben Lewis tracks the extraordinary journey of a masterpiece lost and found, lied and fought over across the centuries. In 2017, Leonardo da Vinci’s small oil painting, the Salvator Mundi was sold at auction for $450m. In the words of its discoverer, the image of Christ as saviour of the world is ‘the rarest thing on the planet by the greatest human being who ever lived’. Its dazzling price also makes it the world’s most expensive painting.For two centuries art dealers had searched in vain for the Holy Grail of art history: a portrait of Christ as the Salvator Mundi by Leonardo da Vinci.
Many similar paintings of greatly varying quality had been executed by Leonardo’s assistants in the first half of the sixteenth century. But where was the original by the master himself? In November 2017, Christie’s auction house announced they had it. But did they? The Last Leonardo tells a thrilling tale of a spellbinding icon invested with the power to make or break the reputations of scholars, billionaires, kings and sheikhs. Lewis takes us to Leonardo’s studio in Renaissance Italy; to the court of Charles I and the English Civil War; to Holland, Moscow and Louisiana; to the galleries, salerooms and restorer’s workshop as the painting slowly, painstakingly, emerged from obscurity. The vicissitudes of the highly secretive art market are charted across five centuries. It is a twisting tale of geniuses and oligarchs, double-crossings and disappearances, where we’re never quite certain what to believe. Above all, it is an adventure story about the search for lost treasure, and a quest for the truth.
Genre: Non-Fiction – Biographies

Continue reading “The Last Leonardo by Ben Lewis”

The Last Indian War by Elliott West

The Last Indian War: The Nez Perce Story (Pivotal Moments in American History) by Elliott West
Requirements: .ePUB reader, 4.9 Mb
Overview: This newest volume in Oxford’s acclaimed Pivotal Moments series offers an unforgettable portrait of the Nez Perce War of 1877, the last great Indian conflict in American history. It was, as Elliott West shows, a tale of courage and ingenuity, of desperate struggle and shattered hope, of short-sighted government action and a doomed flight to freedom.

To tell the story, West begins with the early history of the Nez Perce and their years of friendly relations with white settlers. In an initial treaty, the Nez Perce were promised a large part of their ancestral homeland, but the discovery of gold led to a stampede of settlement within the Nez Perce land. Numerous injustices at the hands of the US government combined with the settlers’ invasion to provoke this most accomodating of tribes to war. West offers a riveting account of what came next: the harrowing flight of 800 Nez Perce, including many women, children and elderly, across 1500 miles of mountainous and difficult terrain. He gives a full reckoning of the campaigns and battles–and the unexpected turns, brilliant stratagems, and grand heroism that occurred along the way. And he brings to life the complex characters from both sides of the conflict, including cavalrymen, officers, politicians, and–at the center of it all–the Nez Perce themselves (the Nimiipuu, "true people"). The book sheds light on the war’s legacy, including the near sainthood that was bestowed upon Chief Joseph, whose speech of surrender, "I will fight no more forever," became as celebrated as the Gettysburg Address.

Based on a rich cache of historical documents, from government and military records to contemporary interviews and newspaper reports, The Last Indian War offers a searing portrait of a moment when the American identity–who was and who was not a citizen–was being forged.
Genre: Non-Fiction > History

Continue reading “The Last Indian War by Elliott West”

The Last Battle: Endgame on the Western Front by Peter Hart

The Last Battle: Endgame on the Western Front, 1918 by Peter Hart
Requirements: .ePUB reader, 5.9 Mb
Overview: By August 1918, the outcome of the Great War was not in doubt: the Allies would win. But what was unclear was how this defeat would play out – would the Germans hold on, prolonging the fighting deep into 1919, with the loss of hundreds of thousands more young lives, or could the war be won in 1918? In The Last Battle, Peter Hart, author of Gallipoli and The Great War, and oral historian at the Imperial War Museum, brings to life the dramatic final weeks of the war, as men fought to secure victory, with survival seemingly only days, or hours away.
Drawing on the experience of both generals and ordinary soldiers, and dwelling with equal weight on strategy, tactics and individual experience, this is a powerful and detailed account of history’s greatest endgame.
Genre: Non-Fiction > History

Continue reading “The Last Battle: Endgame on the Western Front by Peter Hart”